• Home
  • Alumni & Friends
  • Past Award Recipients

Departmental Awards and Scholarships

Every year, The Department of East Asian Languages & Cultures recognizes outstanding students for their academic achievements. We invite you to browse the various awards presented to our students over the years.

If you have been recognized in the past and don't see your name, email us and we will add you to our list of recipients


E. John Niswander Awards

Thess awards are presented to promising students at the elementary level in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.

E. John Niswander Chinese Dictionary Award

2016 Adrienne Cox and Rena Stair

2015 Garrett Jason Schuman and Patrick Spanier

2014 Mario Vlasic and Hannah Jones

2013 Nolan Schmidt and Michael Stephen Swarts

E. John Niswander Japanese Dictionary Award

2016 Michael Burns and Jake Harris

2015 Alexis A. Butts and Chelsea M. Morris

2014 Victoria Purvis, Michelle Dunn, and Brittany Spargur

2013 Brock Miller and Alexandra Schoenberg

E. John Niswander Korean Dictionary Award

2016 Grace Devero

2015 Vann Hassell

E. John Niswander Award for Excellence in Intermediate Japanese

2016 Mary Mitchell

2015 Jonathan Mains

E. John Niswander Korean Book Award

2015 Katie Harding

E. John Niswander Award for Excellence in Intermediate Korean

2016 Brooklyn Shaw

2015 Kassandra Knoff

2014 Breanna Endecott, Kim Hang, and Juliana Alor

2013 Emily Guerin


Grace Wan Award

This fund is given annually to a promising undergraduate student at the intermediate level of Chinese language study.

2016 Philip Bradshaw (Undergraduate)

2015 Beth Fentress (Undergraduate) and Mario Vlasic (Undergraduate)

2014 Patrick Walter (Undergraduate) and Stefanie Becker (Graduate)

2013 Samuel Real (Undergraduate) and Emily Bowden (Graduate)

Andrew and Lilly Tsubaki Award

This fund is given annually to a student to support their participation in a study abroad program in Japan.

2016 Chelsea Morris

2015 Monique Ware

2014 Nicole Prenevost

2013    Annette Jardon

Excellence in Tibetan Award

The Excellence in Tibetan Award is awarded annually to promising students of the Tibetan language.

2016 Molly Kaup

2015 Hank Mamalis

​Tibetan Dictionary Award

The Tibetan Dictionary Award is awarded annually to promising students of the Tibetan language.

2014 Jiaqi Liu


Mary and Joseph Kuo Scholarship

This fund is given annually to one intermediate or advanced level student who demonstrates exceptional talent and expresses a commitment to continue his or her Chinese studies at the University of Kansas or in graduate studies.

Garrett Schuman

Kasey Considine

Whitney Onasch

Ryan Herrington

The Jill Kleinberg Scholarship

The Jill Kleinberg Scholarship will provide funds to a promising undergraduate student to study abroad or intern in East Asia.

2013 Derrick Wells


Foreign Language and Area Studies [FLAS] Fellowships

2014 Summer

Taraneh Aghadie

William Ashley

Anna Hu

Patrick Walter

Michael Sqarts

Kasey Considine

Kodi Low

Alina Zheng

Chelsea Ziu ​

2014 Academic Year

Katrina Connel

Zach Adam

Kasey Considine

Melanie Fichthorn

Sam Buchanan

Miles Simpson

Patrick Walter

2013 Summer

Emerson James

Melanie Leng

Evan Koike

Evan McCormick

Sabrina Owens

Ethan Skinner

2013 Academic Year (Undergraduates)

Sarah Bregman

Annette Jardon

Emerson James

Melanie Leng

Susan McClannahan

Jacob Rhodes

2013 Academic Year (Graduate Students)

Janet Chen

Adrienne Johnson

Justin Kohlbeck

Amanda Snider


Give to East Asia

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times