East Asian Languages & Cultures at the University of Kansas

Our department offers six languages: Chinese, Hindi, Japanese, Korean, Tibetan, and Uyghur. Languages are supported by a variety of interdisciplinary courses ranging from literature and art history, sociology, anthropology, political science, business, and economics, to name but a few. KU students from all majors and professional schools are encouraged to explore East Asian studies. 

Explore all the languages and degrees offered by our Department. Click here.

Our programs in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean are recognized for progressive and immersive language and culture study, giving you the best possible tools for a global career.

With a degree from our department, you can pursue a range of careers in business, government, education, and nonprofit organizations, just to name a few. Or you continue on to graduate study in East Asian languages and Cultures. At the University of Kansas, the opportunities are endless - explore our department and get in touch with us!


Give to East Asia

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times